New issue: Angry Violist 5.5

Hello. I have made a zine in 24 hours in honour of International Zine Month 2012.

The zine was thought-up, written, typeset, copied and assembled entirely within a 24 hour period. Since I don’t have a printer, the zine was made using typewriter and letraset transfers.

And, oh yeah, none of it is edited.

The mini-issue contains writing about:

  • Understanding our hierarchy of music, sound and noise
  • Plugging in and going electric after being an acoustic musician for years
  • I ❤ Michael Karoli, violinist for Can
  • When music and psychology collide: Stendhal syndrome and the White Christmas experiment
  • Vulnerability and creativity: about insecurity as a musician. (I keep wanting to refer to this article and the subject matter of this article as “music therapy”, but that is something entirely different. It’s really about the psychological pitfalls of being a musician. Performance psychology, I suppose.)

Every cover is different

You can buy it from my Etsy shop or, my preferred method of transaction, by emailing me about some kind of swap/trade.
This issue of the zine is A6 (quarter size) and is 20 pages long, b&w and staple-bound. The back is hand-library-stamped and the cover has hand-drawn spirographs.

I made this zine in 24 hours: there are a LOT of typos, please don’t judge me.

Leave a comment